10 Steps When Your Teen Comes Out

The preteen and teen years can be scary for parents, filled with changes and new influences. Our babies are growing into adults with a lot of bumps and bruises along the way. We can’t save them from every hurt but we can doi our best not to inflict extra pain on them. If our children come out to us as LGBT, here is a 10 point script to get through the conversation with the relationship closer than ever, and your teen reassured and less likely to commit suicide. 

  1. “I love you.”
  2. “I have always loved you.”
  3.  “I will always love you.”
  4.  “I have a lot to learn.”
  5.  “You will always have a home with me.” 
  6.   “I’m sorry you couldn’t say this sooner.” 
  7.  “I still love you.” 
  8.  “I accept you.” 
  9.  “I will try to understand you.”
  10. “I will fight for you.” 
Leave a Reply

