Author Update

Today I just want to babble to you, my readers and friends. I’ve had great difficulty writing this month, as I adjust to several new medications to treat anxiety, depression, insomnia, migraines, and stomach woes. Next month I’ll add in a script for IBS symptoms as well. Overall these meds are improving my life and definitely worth taking. They are making organized thought harder to achieve. 

My thinking flow is better though. My thoughts come faster, with fewer suicidal intrusions. I am more able to carry a thought from its birth to fruition now, though writing down how I got there seems harder. I have a half dozen fractured starts of posts, with bits and pieces but no segues tying them together. It is that cohesive work I struggle with the most. 

I am reading again, history books and novels. I had given up that pastime a year ago as eyestrain was causing migraines. An eye exam is in my future and possibly a pair of eyeglasses. I had forgotten how pleasurable reading can be, or how quiet.  I’d been relying on movies and TV when I couldn’t read, and drowning out the sound of birdsong. 

I decided 2017 was the year I would take control of my failing health, and I am doing so. I have a nurse practitioner, a therapist, a psychiatrist, and a dentist. I’ve never had so many medical providers at once before. I am dragging myself to at least two appointments a week, and I am finally getting help for chronic conditions I’ve had for more than two decades. It is long overdue. 

All these positive steps are coming at a cost of time, energy, and writing opportunity. I am not producing as much content as I was before, as much as I’d like to, or as much as I need to in order to pay my bills. My goal is to address my health first, while featuring guest posts from friends and soliciting extra donations from you my readers (give to angieantitheist@gmail.com via PayPal), and resume a full writing schedule as I am physically and mentally able to do so. 

Thank you for your continued support! 

Leave a Reply

