Civil War 2/2

The ignition point for the Civil War was an election, where a fairly centrist candidate took more votes than those who wanted to expand slavery and those who wanted it ended. Abraham Lincoln ran on a “let’s wait and see” platform. Once his win was announced, South Carolina began the process of secession. 

Hillary Clinton secured over two million more votes than her winning opponent, thanks to an electoral system enacted to placate slave states by granting them disproportionately large say in matters of government. The neonazi neo confederates threatened civil war and violence if they didn’t get their way. They promise world war if they do. 

The US Civil War was one of our deadliest by far, because every casualty on every side counts as one of ours. We joined the world wars late and well rested. We didn’t start them before. I don’t want war. I don’t like war. I know that noncombatant women and children often suffer the most in war, and I know rape of such is used as a war weapon. 

But. If we have to choose, I’d rather have a civil war. I’d rather contest this election, have faithless electors, and somehow NOT end up with a racist sexist fascist rapist-in-chief. I’d rather risk a somewhat equally matched battle than see the Russian and US military together invading the world. I’d rather have a president who might prosecute white terrorists. 

I’d rather have Civil War 2 than World War 3. I don’t want war, but I don’t a peace that simply ignores violence and hate crimes and persecution. Martin Luther King Jr. wrote in his Letter from Birmingham Jail on the difference between “a negative peace which is the absence of tension” with “a positive peace which is the presence of justice.” I want to not be content with negative peace, but to fight for a positive one. 

Leave a Reply

