My Crip Fashion 2/2

That sick day look

Heavy fabrics weigh me down, and the additional clothing weight is one of my biggest winter complaints. Some clothing doesn’t distribute this weight evenly, resulting in concentrations of weight, pressure, and pain. My winter wardrobe is made of many light layers to avoid this weight lumping, and to let me peel off extra weight as the day warms. 

I’m a big fan of drawstring waists and loose cuts when it comes to my sweat pants and pajama bottoms. Something that reassuringly covers my nakedness without the pain and pressure of “real” (socially acceptable in public) clothes.Microfiber fabrics are soft and lightweight and most of my pants are micro cotton or micro fleece. 

In public, I trade out my PJs and fuzzy pink robe for leggings. The steady compression will eventually hurt, but the distribution is usually even, so it takes a few hours. Leggings are socially acceptable, and easy to remove in a bathroom emergency. They’re too tight around my abdomen to wear all day though, and sometimes the close fit of the fabric makes my long leg hairs itchy. 

My end look is either (at home) pajamas and a robe or (in public) leggings with layered tops. I usually start with a bralette camisole, a woman’s cut t shirt, a light cotton three quarter sleeve top, and a flannel. In winter I add my soft coat, angora wool scarf, and a crushed velvet hat for gentle soft warmth that isn’t too heavy. 

These are the factors that influence my crip fashion. Other people with other disabilities and symptoms are going to have different clothing needs. Manual wheelchair users, for example, may want no long sleeves, as they are likely to get dirty. For people with medical devices, it may mean decorating those items. What does crip fashion mean to you? 

To support this blog and author, become a patron today! 

Leave a Reply

