Migraines

The sun is too bright. My eyes can’t handle the glare. I wear shades and a wide brimmed hat, but even indoors I can’t escape it. Summer was once my favorite season but now it hurts. 

It’s impressive how much of my body is recruited in my body’s mission to communicate pain. Did you know eyeballs can feel pinched? I do. 

My neck and shoulders get stiff. My eyes and ears are too sensitive. I get nauseated but fear how much my head would ache if I threw up . 

Everything is too much. Too bright, too loud, too strong smelling. All my senses get turned up so that even normal stimulus feels like assault. 

I can’t sleep no matter how tired. I toss and turn and twitch. 

I’m writing this with a migraine, because I can’t afford not to. 

If you’d like to support this blog and blogger so that I can afford to pause when I’m crying in pain, that would greatly improve my life. As it is, I’ll be spending the rest of my day recovering from writing three posts this morning. Become a patron at Patreon.com/AngieJackson

Leave a Reply

