Love is Love?

image

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said as you pushed my girlfriend and me down the stairs for holding hands.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when you sent my friends to “repairative therapy” to “pray away the gay”.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when you told me you hated my sin and called me an abomination.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when you banned my gay and bi brothers from contributing blood to the shared bank. 

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said last week when you threw my trans sisters out of the bathroom, and bombed a Target.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when police raided our clubs, when our love was against the law.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when my queer ancestors rioted, led by trans women of color.

“Love is love!”

That’s not what you said when my forefathers were dying of AIDS, and your straight first couple laughed at our dead.

“Love is love!”

This has never been what you believed. It’s never been what you’ve said. I don’t believe you.

2 thoughts on “Love is Love?

  1. The “love” that Christianity is supposed to be about is being hurt by Christians preaching rejoicement over the recent mass murder. I’ve challenged a couple of Christians to think about how Christian love looks in light of the that kind of hate coming from Christian leaders. People have always had different views on what love is. Christians talk about how God loves us so much that he sent Christ etc. and I say that I think that nature loves us in the figurative sense as well as hates us and nature is the closest thing to God I know.

    Like

  2. I’m so tired of cisgender hetero Christians telling me “Not all Christians!” or arguing that no actually they really love us but hate our sin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

