Poverty Panic

image

Money stress hits once or more each month. It’s one of the many painful, preventable consequences of poverty. For me, it is physical.

I have anxiety disorder. While I can avoid shopping at busy times or going places I would feel anxious, I can’t avoid or escape poverty.

I try not to think about it. I hate spending money, because each time causes fear. Is there enough in my account? Will I regret this purchase later? Right now we both have the flu, but I could only justify buying cough medicine for him.

Later we will walk two miles while sick, to save about $7 in cab fare.

And that would be bearable except we have no money. My internet and phone and utility bills will all come due before I’m next paid.

Each time I remember, I gasp aloud. My heart races, my palms each, and I am overcome with the instinct to run.

When capitalism is the predator, there’s nowhereto run to. That stress somatizes and becomes nausea and inflammation.

How do you run from poverty?

If you like my writing, please consider becoming a patron. I cannot pay my bills on “likes”.

Leave a Reply

