Makeup Tutorial: Eyeliner Wings

There are a lot of different ways to draw eyeliner wings. This is one method that’s more forgiving of shaky hands. 

image

I start with foundation,  concealer,  blush, and bronzer already on, and eyebrows done too.

image

I use a stiff scrap of paper or business card as an edge guide. I line the card up so it draws a straight line from the bottom of my eye to the tail of my eyebrow. I use a liquid eyeliner marker to draw in this line.

image

I use an eyeliner pencil in the same color to draw just below my lower lashes (not on the waterline).

image

I use a smudge tool to soften the liner and blend the edge where the two liners meet.

image

I use a point brush to apply my accent color starting from the wing and moving inward along the crease.

image

Accent color progress shot.

image

I use a point brush to apply my eyelid color. This is almost always lighter than my accent color. 

image

I again use the point brush to apply a thin line of taupe shadow just below my brows. Eyebrows create shade so most faces are slightly lighter just below them. I blend this down toward my accent color. 

image

I use the liquid eyeliner marker from the first step to carefully line my upper lashes and to connect this line with my wings.

image

I use a coat of mascara primer to separate my lashes. Short lashes don’t always show up well against black liner, so I will do a few extra steps to ensure they show up.

image

Great Lash is a good everyday mascara and I like the shape of the brush.

image

I top and finish shaping lashes with two coats of NYC Buildable Mascara.

image

Done!

Leave a Reply

