Makeup Tutorial: “No Makeup” Look

Some days you don’t want a full dramatic look. You just wanna be yourself,  perhaps with a little less acne and a slightly more even skin tone. This tutorial is for those days.

image

I start with a clean face, which I cover with a BB cream or foundation. 

image

I apply liquid concealer above my brows, from under my eyes to the tops of my cheeks, and above my upper lip. These are all places where light naturally hits my face without makeup. I don’t want to obscure the underlying bone structure. I blend all this in.

image

I apply a thin line of liquid highlight along the length of my nose. If your nose is slightly crooked, this will maje it appear straighter. Natural makeup is all about optical illusions. I blend going up and down, not side to side to elongate rather than widen thr appearance of my nose.

image

I also use highlight in a thin line coming from the base of my ears toward my chin. I blend this in along the bone.

image

Just below my jaw bone and the highlight line, I use a blush brush to apply bronzer. The highlight and bronzer together help define my jaw bone, also making my neck look thinner and longer.

image

I use the same brush to apply bronzer curving up along the bottom side of my cheeks, going up to the temple, drawing across the forehead,  and down the other cheek.

image

I lightly apply blush in the gap between concealer and bronzer. I don’t want my blush or bronzer to go on too dark or dramatic for this look.

image

I use an eyeshadow brush to apply a light neutral shade across my lids. I chose a slightly shimmery powder but you can choose a matte finish for a more natural look. 

image

For this look I use a straight mascara wand, not a curving one. I just want to lightly coat and separate my upper lashes, not go too bold.

image

I finish off with a shiny lip gloss because I like shine more than I like going truly natural. A lip balm or neutral matte lipstick may be an even better choice.

image

Here’s the final look. Compared with the first picture, my skin looks clearer and smoother but I mostly look like me, which was the goal.

Leave a Reply

